Ch 3- “Legal and Ethical Guidelines” Thoughts & Opinions

Notes and Thoughts from:
“Public Relations: Writing and Media Techniques” by Dennis Wilcox
(I use the 5th edition, in case you see references to page numbers ;) )

http://www.pearsonhighered.com/educator/product/Public-Relations-Writing-and-Media-Techniques/9780205648283.page

What I learned:

  • The book list guidelines the courts use to determine if a trademark has been infringed upon, which includes: when a defendant uses a name as a way of capitalizing on the reputation of another organization’s trademark, or intent to create confusion in public’s mind by implying that a defendant’s product and the item identified by the trademark.


What surprised me:

  • You can be held liable for ” disseminating information that a court or regulatory agency finds misleading, untrue, or damaging; Participating in illegal action; Counseling or guiding policy to accomplish an illegal action; and engaging in political lobbying without identifying the source of funds and the special interest involved.


What I want to know more about:

  • Who actually decides what is ethical, and what is not?
  • What are the common ways people accidentally misuse trademarks and copyrighted material?
About misslowoodward

loves a good bike ride, cooking a tasty vegetarian meal, planting flowers, walking the dog, and making art (and cupcakes!) :o)
This entry was posted in Chapter Readings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ch 3- “Legal and Ethical Guidelines” Thoughts & Opinions

  1. snarwold says:

    The first thing that attracted me to your PR Connection of course was the word Facebook! So I thought why not click on the article and read more about it. I was shocked when I read the top ten most popular Facebook pages. However, after looking at Number 5, Uno Chigaco Grill’s Facebook page I can understand why they’re so popular. Their menu makes me want to immediatley jump on a plane to Chicago. Another page that I was shocked to see on the top ten list was Toy Story 3. I can now understand why it’s a top contender after finding out that if you visit the site you can not only turn yourself into an animated toy, but you can also buy your movie ticket while you are visiting the site. I mean honestly who wouldn’t want to see themselves as an animated toy? I am hands down logging onto Facebook and adding Toy Story as one of my pages 🙂

Leave a Reply

